By winterwoodblog
Posted: Updated:
0 Comments

timmy-failure-1 1. Timmy Failure, Mistakes Were Made
by Stephan Pasits 

A good book to encourage reluctant readers. It is rioutously funny but the humour is sophisticated. It tells the story of Timmy’s attempts to run the best detective agency in town. It is also part of a five book series so if you like the first book there are more to enjoy.
 
 

abominables-2
2. The Abominables

by Eva Ibbotson


High on a Himalayan mountain, a young explorer is asleep in her tent. At midnight she is snatched by a gigantic, hairy monster – and never seen again. Agatha Farlingham has been kidnapped by a yeti. But she soon discovers that he is a brave and noble beast. His family is in danger – and he needs her help. Shortlisted for the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize.

 

 


wildwood-1

3. Wildwood

by Colin Meloy


This young adult fanstay is the first book in the Wildwood Chronicles. Prue McKeel is trying to keep out of trouble when her baby brother is abducted by crows and hauled off to the woods beyond the city. It is up to her to bring him back. On her mission she is plunged into the world of Wildwood where she meets more trouble and magic than she ever thought possible.

 
 

heidi-34. Heidi

by Johanna Spyri


This is the perfect summer read for girls in search of an inspring heroine. When Heidi is sent to live in the Swiss mountains with her bad-tempered old Grandfather, everyone in the village feels sorry for her. But Heidi soon discovers a secret: Grandfather isn’t nearly as cross as he looks – plus she can play all day in the fields among the bright flowers. But Heidi is whisked away again to be a companion to an injured girl in the city. She longs for her beautiful mountain home – how will she ever get back again?

 

reckless-3

5. Reckless

by Cornelia Funke


The first in the Mirrorworld series this is a perfect read for boys who enjoy fantasy and adventure. Inspired by the Brothers Grimm, the book introduces a lush, enchanting world where fantasy meets reality. Reckless is a thrilling adventure, a tale of heroism and loyalty, filled with danger, mystery, and magic–with fairy tales and legends re-imagined as never before.

  
 

durrell-16. My Family and Other Animals

by Gerald Durrell 

This classic tells the story of ten-year-old Gerald who lives on the Greek island of Corfu with his family. There are snakes in the bath and geckos on the ceiling and the whole house feels like a zoo. Gerald joyfully pursues his interest in natural history in the midst of an unconventional and chaotic family life – all brilliantly retold in this very funny book.
  
 

st-john-1
 7. The One Dollar Horse 
by Lauren St. John 

Casey Blue lives in East London’s grimmest tower block and volunteers at a local riding school, but her dream is to win the world’s greatest three day event: the Badminton Horse Trials. When she rescues a starving, half-wild horse, she’s convinced that the impossible can be made possible.
  
 

woodfine-18. The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow
by Katherine Woodfine

This is a mystery with a strong central female character. A fast-paced historical adventure for readers aged 9+, with gorgeous Edwardian period detail. Perfect for fans of Enid Blyton, Chris Riddell’s Goth Girl and Robin Stevens’ Murder Most Unladylike series. The heroines, Miss Sophie Taylor and Miss Lilian Rose, crack codes, devour iced bones and vow to bring London’smost dastardly villains to justice.
  
 

dragt-2
9. The Secrets of the Wild Wood
by Tonke Dragt

This is the sequel to The Letter for the King and is suitable for fans of Lord of the Rings. One of the King’s most trusted knights has vanished in the snow, so young Sir Tiuri and his best friend Piak must journey into the shadowy heart of the forest to find him. The Wild Wood is a place of mysteries, rumours and whispered tales. A place of lost cities, ancient curses, robbers, princesses and Men in Green.
  
 

hardinge-210.The Lie Tree

by Frances Hardinge

One of the only children’s books to have won the over-all Costa book of the Year Award. When Faith’s father is found dead under mysterious circumstances, she is determined to untangle the truth from the lies in this Victorian mystery. Searching through his belongings for clues she discovers a strange tree. A tree that feeds off whispered lies and bears fruit that reveals hidden secrets. Suitable for readers 12+.

Related Posts

How do you get boys to read? It’s a difficult question, and there isn’t an immediate answer. In the...

One of the many joys of private tuition is coming across students who learn in different ways. In a...

For many years, one of my main roles at Winterwood was finding and recruiting tutors.  This was...

Leave a Reply